Every year a report of how much each Formula One driver earns is published – and looking at the 2012 list, some drivers are quids-in when it comes to driving at the highest level.

The annual report – taken from Spanish newspaper El Mundo – shows that Ferrari still have the financial might to pay the top wages. Fernando Alonso tops the list, on a staggering twenty-four million pounds. Spare a thought for Felipe Massa, he’s £16m less well off, only on a measly £8m.

As for the Brits, Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button lead the way on £12.9m each. We figure that Jenson’s contract extension bumped him up to the same level as Lewis, with bonuses probably coming into play to differentiate between the two. Hamilton’s multi-million pound contract is up at the end of this season, and much had been made about what options the 27-year-old has leading into next year.

At the bottom of the list is rookie Charles Pic – understandable considering Marussia is a “new” team and his experience level – but spare a thought for Force India’s Paul Di Resta. The Scot earns £160,000, less than both drivers at Toro Rosso and, surprisingly,  HRT!

The full list is as follows;

1. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari) – €30 million/£24 Million

2. Lewis Hamilton (McLaren) – €16 million/£12.9 Million

– Jenson Button (McLaren) – €16 million/£12.9 Million

4. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull Racing) – €10 million/£8 Million

– Mark Webber (Red Bull Racing) – €10 million/£8 Million

– Felipe Massa (Ferrari) – €10 million/£8 Million

– Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) – €10 million/£8 Million

8. Michael Schumacher (Mercedes) – €8 million/£6.4 Million

9. Kimi Raikkonen (Lotus) – €5 million/£4 Million

10. Heikki Kovalainen (Caterham) – €4 million/£3.2 Million

11. Timo Glock (Marussia) – €3 million/£2.4 Million

12. Kamui Kobayashi (Sauber) – €1 million/£800,000

– Romain Grosjean (Lotus) – €1 million/£800,000

14. Nico Hulkenberg (Force India) – €500,000/£400,000

– Sergio Perez (Sauber) – €500,000/£400,000

– Vitaly Petrov (Caterham) – €500,000/£400,000

Pedro de la Rosa (HRT) – €500,000/£400,000

18. Jean-Eric Vergne (Toro Rosso) – €400,000/£300,000

Daniel Ricciardo (Toro Rosso) – €400,000/£300,000

Pastor Maldonado (Williams) – €400,000/£300,000

21. Bruno Senna (Williams) – €250,000/£200,000

– Nairan Karthikeyan (HRT) – €250,000/£200,000

23. Paul di Resta (Force India) – €200,000/£160,000

24. Charles Pic (Marussia) – €150,000/£120,000

While you're here...

Did you know that Badger GP has now been running for nearly a decade, and this is only possible with the support of our fans and readers. You can support Badger GP for as little as £10 per year, or be a Champion and gets lots of perks in return. Find out more here, thank you.