Nico Rosberg claimed his first F1 victory after 111 starts in Shanghai to give Mercedes their first win for 57 years. Mclaren’s Jenson Button took second place, but would’ve been in with a serious chance of victory if it wasn’t for a sticky rear wheel nut on his last pit stop. Team-mate Lewis Hamilton rounded out the podium after a late scrap to pass Sebastian Vettel.

In an afternoon dominated by tyre wear and strategy, Rosberg led confidently from pole position, and while his rivals floundered in out-of-position traffic, the German driver built an impressive lead to comfortably secure a maiden triumph.

Picture - Mercedes AMG

Behind him, the arguably faster McLarens of Button and Hamilton, who had both opted for a three stop strategy, got bogged down in the slower traffic on two stops, most notably Kimi Raikkonen and Sebastian Vettel.

This had a concertina effect on the field, providing some exciting racing for points scoring positions. Raikkonen would eventually relinquish 2nd place, but thanks to his worn tyres, would drop like a stone to 12th over the course of one lap. Notable battles included Pastor Maldonado and Romain Grosjean coming to blows, and Sauber’s drivers nearly colliding coming off the long back straight.

Vettel recovered from a disappointing 11th on the grid – and being in 14th place after the opening lap – to capitalise on Kimi’s misfortune. But, with the laps ticking down, he then lost out to Button, and then both Hamilton and Red Bull team-mate Mark Webber on the final lap, to finish a respectable 5th place. Webber himself had an eventful afternoon – the Aussie’s car becoming airborne after riding a kerb!

Jenson Button wasn’t the only driver to have pit stop problems as Michael Schumacher went out on lap 13 after Mercedes failed to put his front right wheel nut on, forcing the German to park his car soon after. It would prove to be the only race retirement.

POSDriverTeamPos Gained
1Nico RosbergMercedes0
2Jenson ButtonMcLaren/Mercedes3
3Lewis HamiltonMcLaren/Mercedes4
4Mark WebberRed Bull/Renault2
5Sebastian VettelRed Bull/Renault6
6Romain GrosjeanLotus/Renault4
7Bruno SennaWilliams/Renault7
8Pastor MaldonadoWilliams/Renault5
9Fernando AlonsoFerrari0
10Kamui KobayashiSauber/Ferrari-7
11Sergio Peu008erezSauber/Ferrari-3
12Paul Di RestaForce India/Mercedes3
13Felipe MassaFerrari-1
14Kimi Rau008aikkou009anenLotus/Renault-10
15Nico Huu009flkenbergForce India/Mercedes1
16Jean-Eric VergneToro Rosso/Ferrari8
17Daniel RicciardoToro Rosso/Ferrari0
18Vitaly PetrovCaterham/Renault1 Lap1
19Timo GlockMarussia/Cosworth1 Lap1
20Charles PicMarussia/Cosworth1 Lap1
21Pedro de la RosaHRT/Cosworth1 Lap1
22N.KarthikeyanHRT/Cosworth2 Laps1
23H.KovalainenCaterham/Renault3 Laps-5