By the sounds of the radio communication following the chequered flag, we may have witnessed one of Lewis’ final victories for the McLaren team today.  He took control of the race from lights out, defending against Massa as they left Button behind to take up 3rd after turn 1.

Besides a brief bit of fun at the front for Sergio Perez, Hamilton lead from start to finish, leaving everyone else to squabble for points.  Perez may have started well down, outside the top 10, but the Mexican had a massively long first stint on hard tyres before making a stop and coming out with fresh tyres and overtaking everyone up to 2nd place.

Fernando Alonso reminded us why he’s referred to as the best driver in F1, making a super impressive drive from 10th to 3rd to take the final step on the podium and keep his championship lead in tact.

We’ll bring you more on today’s race shortly, but for now – what do we all think of Lewis’ post-race chat with the team – it didn’t exactly sound like he’s looking forward to shortly announcing a long-term commitment to the McLaren team did it?

McLaren controlled the race from the front in Monza – credit: McLaren
  1. Lewis Hamilton – McLaren/Mercedes
  2. Sergio Pérez – Sauber/Ferrari
  3. Fernando Alonso – Ferrari
  4. Felipe Massa – Ferrari
  5. Kimi Räikkönen – Lotus/Renault
  6. M.Schumacher – Mercedes
  7. Nico Rosberg – Mercedes
  8. Paul Di Resta – Force India/Mercedes
  9. Kamui Kobayashi – Sauber/Ferrari
  10. Bruno Senna – Williams/Renault
  11. Pastor Maldonado – Williams/Renault
  12. Daniel Ricciardo – Toro Rosso/Ferrari
  13. J.D’Ambrosio – Lotus/Renault
  14. H.Kovalainen – Caterham/Renault
  15. Vitaly Petrov – Caterham/Renault
  16. Charles Pic – Marussia/Cosworth
  17. Timo Glock – Marussia/Cosworth
  18. Pedro de la Rosa – HRT/Cosworth
  19. N.Karthikeyan – HRT/Cosworth
  20. Mark Webber – Red Bull/Renault
  21. Nico Hülkenberg – Force India/Mercedes
  22. Sebastian Vettel – Red Bull/Renault
  23. Jenson Button – McLaren/Mercedes
  24. Jean-Eric Vergne – Toro Rosso/Ferrari