Sauber drivers Sergio Perez and Kamui Kobayashi have been excluded from today’s Australian Grand Prix. The pair finished seventh and eighth respectively, with debutant Perez in particular impressing with his performance, but now leave Albert Park empty handed after failing scrutineering.

The Swiss team’s cars were deemed to have broken technical rules 3.10.1 and 3.10.2, which refer to the upper rear wing element. Theirs is believed to have breached the minimum radius size of 100mm.

Sauber’s exclusion promotes Felipe Massa to seventh with Sebastien Buemi eighth. Both Force Indias have now been promoted to points-paying positions, with Adrian Sutil ninth and Paul di Resta taking points in his maiden grand prix for tenth.

Photo: Sauber Media