Force India third driver Paul di Resta has won the DTM touring car championship after finishing second to McLaren tester Gary Paffett in today’s season-closing race in Shanghai.

The Scot – who is strongly rumored to be stepping up to a race drive with Vijay Mallya’s team in 2011 – finished the season four points clear Paffett with Canada’s Bruno Spengler third. The Canadian had led the points standings entering the final race.


24-year-old di Resta took three straight wins at Brands Hatch, Oschersleben and Hockenheim and scored four other podium finishes to set himself up for the title. His last championship came in 2006, when he beat none other than Sebastian Vettel by 11 points to win the F3 Euro Series crown.

Here’s hoping he lands that F1 drive for 2011 – he’s clearly ready for it.