After many penalties, here is the final, FIA confirmed grid for the Indian Grand Prix.  Timo Glock still starts 24th despite Narain Karthikeyan receiving a five-place penalty for holding up Michael Schumacher in the first round of qualifying.  Timo remains last because his best time in qualifying was outside 107% of the best time (but allowed to race because he did go quicker in practice) – hopefully his Marussia will be free of gearbox issues for the race.

Hamilton’s impressive effort to split the Red Bulls was muted, with his 3 place penalty due to not slowing for double-waved yellow flags during Friday practice – he starts 5th, just behind team mate Button in 4th.  Perez also had a three place penalty for the same reason as Hamilton and is relegated to 20th for the start.  Ricciardo also had a five place penalty following a gearbox change, but still starts 22nd due to those around him also having penalties.

Phew, now after all these shenanigans have been sorted, we can look forward to the race and see how it all pans out and discover who can win the inaugural Indian Grand Prix.  Exciting times.

The finalised grid for Sunday

Attention: The internal data of table “72” is corrupted!